Roe deer in a field of purple knapweed

With all the rain today I was really missing summer, so I dug out my favourite piece of summer film and decided it was time I shared it with you. If you have ever wondered what it’s like to sit in a field of purple flowers and watch a roe deer getting nearer and nearer and nearer to you then this is the film for you.

Deep in a field of purple knapweed

I haven’t edited the film at all, this is just as it happened. I love the way he stares at me through the purple flowers. Just one of those lucky events that you sometimes get when you are watching wildlife.

I’ve ended the film with the roe deer bounding and grunting away from me, but he actually came back time and time again to suss me out. He didn’t seem particularly worried about me, just couldn’t make me out.

Mind you I’m not surprised, I was lying on my stomach in a patch of black knapweed (that has purple flowers!) dressed in full camo. gear in the middle of summer… not something he probably sees everyday.

10 thoughts on “Roe deer in a field of purple knapweed

  1. Pingback: Do you want a fix of summer? - Wildlife and Environment Forums

  2. Thanks Paula. Hope you are feeling better now. Hopefully my little deer video cheered you up and made you think of summer… Oh, how I wish I was good enough for the BBC, it’s my dream to be on Countryfile. Take care. Jane

  3. Pingback: Otters - Wildlife and Environment Forums

  4. Hey,

    What an enchanting piece of film– the moments you’ve captured are indeed special. Watching it feels almost like I’m there in hiding too…

    Hopefully wish some perseverance you’ll realise your countryfile dream.

    Thank you for sharing this

    Kind regards,

    Dont be sad

Leave a Reply

