Hares in the morning sun

Up early this morning at 6am, and arrived at Kimmeridge Bay to look for brown hares again. This time my searching was more successful.

Kimmeridge Bay

Kimmeridge Bay looking east

It was a beautiful morning, with a perfect burnished sunrise. I had decided to return to Kimmeridge Bay to look for brown hares again. Mainly due to a tip off from Steve, at Dorset Wildlife Trust, who had seen hares on Sunday and gave me exact directions.

Climbing the hill out of Kimmeridge Harbour and up onto the cliff top footpath the skylarks were already singing, and a stonechat flitted from post-top to post-top as I wandered along. Mornings really don’t get much better!

I had to keep reminding myself that I’d come to spot hares because the view across the sea was so stunning and it was easy to be distracted. As I climbed another slope and looked down onto a small flood water pool, I realised I was getting near to the place Steve had seen them. Instinctively I looked up into the fields.

Kimmeridge Bay

The inland fields at Kimmeridge – brown hare country

To be honest you couldn’t miss them. Bounding around at the top of the field, they stood out against the sky. Backsides held high, ears with black-tips and that unmistakable lolloping gait.

I sat down on the grass, propping myself against a fence post. I could see at least seven hares. Some quietly feeding, others chasing a nice smelling female. Unfortunately there wasn’t much competition, so no mad-march-hare-boxing ensued, but just to sit and watch them was a great experience.

The video above shows one of the seven who decided to come zig-zagging down the field towards me. Obviously totally unaware of my presence, it got to within about 30ft of where I was sitting before disappearing over a small dry stone wall into the next door field.

No people, no cars, no pollution, just birds, hares and a perfect view.

 

17 thoughts on “Hares in the morning sun

  1. Thanks Black Rabbit. It was really special watching them. I will be going back to see if I can catch some boxing over the next couple of weeks… however, they may have already gone “off the boil”! Jane

  2. Wonderful, glad you got such good views of the hares, they are amazing, especially how they can race over a field then dissapear. They don’t of course, just hunker down in their scrape. I’ll be trying to do the same this weekend as we’re going to Larmer Tree Garden if the snow keeps off!!

  3. I love hares and it always gives me a thrill to see them, which is so seldom now.

    Wasn’t that book giving clues in the riddles of the story fabout a treasure hunt of a beautiful jewelled hare somewhere in Dorset? I can remember the boys being so dure they would find it. Can’t remember the name though.

  4. Hey Steve! Yes, even I couldn’t miss them. As you say, I did get a brilliant view, and they came very close. A great morning, thanks so much for the tip-off! Jane

  5. Paula. I wondered if you saw hares much in Devon – shame that you don’t. I think the book was Masquerade. The hare turned out to be in Ampthill in Bedfordshire, but I think a lot of people thought it might be in Dorset. Well remembered! It’s strange because I bought Andrew a bronze hare at Christmas, funny I should go looking for the real thing this year… maybe buying it sparked my interest. Jane

  6. Misti. Not bad is it! On a lovely sunny day it’s gorgeous… on a windy/rainy day it’s a different matter! Can’t wait for summer and all the butterflies and birds. It “smells” gorgeous too. A mixture of grass/seaweed/damp earth and salt water… Jane

  7. Pingback: Mad March Hares - Wildlife and Environment Forums

  8. Hello there! My husband stumbled upon your website, and now we never go to bed without logging on in the evening and watching your foxes and badgers! Fantastic – thank you for sharing it all.

  9. Pingback: Brown Hare - I hope - Wildlife and Environment Forums

    • Hi Jackie. Thanks for your lovely comment. I’m seeing hares in all sorts of fields early in the morning at the moment. With their enormous ears they are easy to spot in the short crops! I’m glad the video cheered you a little. No dragons I’m afraid, but hares come a close second!

Leave a Reply

