Pipistrellus pipistrellus

This post is all about firsts. It started with me seeing my first hare (last week). Then filming my first badger in the garden. Then I had my first cold of the year and heard my first chiff-chaff and skylark, and today another first.

Pipistrelle Flying

Common Pipistrelle Bat – Photograph supplied by Wikipedia (not by me)

Tonight at about 6.30pm, while I was putting some scraps out for the badgers and foxes, I saw my first bat of the year.

A tiny pipistrelle, flitting backwards and forwards over the lawn. Then there were two. Flying around the garden like their little lives depended on it. Which I guess they did, as tonight would have been one of their first feeds of the year (another first) since beginning their hibernation last autumn.

I don’t understand why people don’t like bats. I love sitting on the bench outside my back door on summer evenings watching them hunt down little knats and moths above the hedge and lawn. Sometimes I stand in the middle of the lawn and see whether they will bump into me… of course they never do. Tonight was a bit cold for hanging about but I did stop and watch them for ten minutes or so.

Pipistrelle Bat

Tiny little bat – Photograph supplied by Wikipedia (not by me)

They are the UK’s tiniest bat (no more than about 4cm long with a wingspan of about 20cm) and they are our most common. They may have emerged today as it’s been a bit warmer. It’s still early for them to be coming out of hibernation completely. I’d get back in the warm little bat if I were you, and wait a couple more weeks!

Every year I think that I must put up some bat roosting boxes in the big beech trees at the end of the garden. Seeing them this early has jogged my memory and I must try and find some boxes for them on the internet. Maybe I can attract more than two into the garden this year. That would be a first!

10 thoughts on “Pipistrellus pipistrellus

  1. Bat’s are great, aren’t they?

    Great blog, and thanks for having a look at mine. Sorry to hear about the housing plans in your village. My patch is under threat from housing development too, but as it’s largely derelict factories it’s not quite as picturesque as yours! Still great habitat with tons of species, and if the developers get their way it’ll be a great shame.

    I’ve popped a link to your blog on mine.

    Pete

  2. I like to see the bats flying round our barn and foldyard. Did I tell you about the one that got in the house – my husband thought he was imagining things!
    Your first photograph is amazing.
    Sara from farmingfriends

  3. Pete. Yes I love bats. Great little creatures. The housing problem seems to be everywhere. I wonder if we are going to have ANY countryside left in years to come? Thanks for the link, appreciate it! Jane

  4. Sara. God a bat in the house would be a bit freaky… it must have been a nightmare getting it out. Not my photos… wikipedia supplied, but yes, it’s a great picture. You can almost see through the wings. Jane

  5. Neil. Yep… I know what you mean. I’ve wondered about trying to film them but don’t have the equipment necessary to do the job. Great seeing them. Jane

  6. Not surprised the bats are out after what I found in our garden today Jane – every type of winged beastie under the sun!
    Its my last night shift for SIX WEEKS tonight (WOO-HOO!), so I’ll check the office courtyard for bats tonight (there was a pair all last year).
    Cheers for the heads up.
    Doug

  7. Doug. I know… I saw loads of moths last night. You must be SOOOO looking forward to 6 weeks without nights. Wonder if you saw any bats last night… Jane

  8. You have been busy! Haven’t seen anything quite so exciting on my walks with Jack but plenty of deer in our local fields this past week and very noisy buzzards up on the drove this morning. Chris

  9. Hi Chris. Hope you are feeling better now. Deer and buzzards are just as exciting… have you been watching out for your barn owls? they should be nesting now. Have a look in the barn next time you pass and let me know… I might try to video them. Jane

Leave a Reply

