Birds eye view

The birds in my garden are really important to me. Before we moved to this house the previous owner had fed the birds for over 40 years. There was no way I was going to stop, there might have been an “urban extension” bird-riot.

Male Bullfinch

Male Bullfinch

We’ve got a lot of tits in the garden at the moment. Not the double-d variety (although I’m sure my other half would like that), these are the feathery kind. The fab-four are blue tits, coal tits, long tailed tits and great tits. I managed to catch all four on video today as you can see below.

The next foursome are the dunnock, robin, blackbird and greenfinch. These birds are always in the garden, winter or summer you’re guaranteed to hear and see them.

The bullfinches are one of our favourite birds (along with the spotted flycatchers that arrive in May). Although they are supposed to be “hard to spot” “secretive” and “elusive” ours are downright cheeky and gregarious.

I managed to catch this female feeding the male (how sweet!). I know there are at least three pairs in the area. Hopefully all of them will successfully fledge their chicks again this year.

Lastly, I thought I’d better introduce you to “tree rat”. He eats all the bird seed, knocks the bird feeders down and generally gets into lots of trouble. He is a pest, and I think is now official classed as “vermin”.

This one looks like he’s had mange and lost a band of fur around his chest. However, when you watch this clip … how could you say anything but ahhhhhhhh?

16 thoughts on “Birds eye view

  1. Once again, unable to view the vids at work, but will tonight.
    Like our blue tits, our Bullfinches have buggered off too, the ungrateful so and sos….
    I’m a big fan of spotty flycatchers – great little things aren’t they? Though unklike you lucky thing Jane, we’ll have to hunt for ours this summer….
    Thanks for the bday wishes!
    Doug

  2. Funny you should say that… I’m hoping to get a nestcam put into the flycatchers nestbox in the next couple of weeks. Ready for when they arrive in May. Then you can watch from the comfort of your armchair at home… Jane

  3. Hiya, just catching up on some of your posts. Been inundated with folk, weddings and chickenpox.

    Our bullfinches are like yours – downright full on guys – even in the face of the once aggressive nuthatches.

    How are your greenfinches? Robert says there’s a huge decline, some disease, and I must say we’ve only just got them back on the bird table in the last week or so. They used to be the most common bird we had.

  4. Dragonstar. The answer is “food” and lots of it. They flit around the garden all day long (think they are nesting nearby). I always think of them as little flying mice… love seeing/hearing them (very noisy!) in the garden. Jane

  5. Hi Paula. What a busy life you lead! Yes the bullfinches aren’t in the least bit intimidated by the other birds… right little bully-boys. We have a lot less greenfinches, but we don’t tend to see “loads” during the summer – winter is when they seem to descend on us, however I’ve seen at least 5 on the feeder this week. Our bullfinches got the “finch” disease last year. Really, really sad to see them in so much pain. Jane

  6. Bullfinsh are just lovely. Last Christmas at the Washington (North East not USA) WWT, they feed them. I watched 20 to 30 coming into feeders from a few feet away. Short Video on Blog if you are interested, I think 01.01.08 posting. Why they never became the Christmas Robin is anyone’s guess!!

  7. Hi Border Reiver. I can’t seem to get onto your blog at the moment… it isn’t coming up. I’d love to see your video. I’ve never seen that many bullfinches, must be quite a sight! Thanks for visiting. Jane

  8. Hi Shirl. The bullfinches are great to see. At the moment they are sitting in the rain munching away at the sunflower seeds. They look a bit bedraggled, but I guess they have young to feed nearby (I think they have nested in the enormous fir tree at the side of the house – no chance of getting a camera up there!). Jane

Leave a Reply

