Four Fledgling Long-Tailed Tits Make an Appearance

A few weeks ago we thought that the Long-Tailed Tit nest in our garden had been raided by a Magpie. There was a lot of noise, flapping and fuss and then silence. We haven’t really seen the parents since.

Fledgling Long-Tailed Tits

Today four fledglings made an appearance on the bush in front of our sitting-room. I noticed their long tails and funny white “monk” heads first. They hopped around the bush for a while, as the parents flew backwards and forwards feeding them from the fat-feeder, then they settled down for a rest on one of the top branches.

Luckily the Sparrowhawk didn’t make a pass and take the lot but I did manage to rush upstairs and get some footage out of the bedroom window before they flew away. So here it is hot of the press (I only took it at 7pm tonight!)

13 thoughts on “Four Fledgling Long-Tailed Tits Make an Appearance

  1. Yes, a real privilege. They were very small but seemed to be strong flyers and certainly could eat for Britain… they were keeping their parents (who were smaller than they were and very tired and tatty) very busy. Luckily they had found the fat feeder I had put out yesterday. I’ve also just realised that you can hear Andrew on the film, coming up the stairs shouting “where are you”. Made me laugh, cos I was hanging out the bedroom window at the time (as you do)! Jane

  2. Pingback: Film of Four Fledgling Long Tailed Tits - Wildlife and Environment Forums

  3. Hi Lyn. I’ve been looking at your blog. Didn’t realise you were quite so close, you seem to go to a lot of places that I know very well… Great to know there are other “Dorset” nature lovers out there! Jane

  4. Tricia. Yes, the LTTs are gorgeous. Like little balls of fluff. I think the white patch on their head almost makes them look like they are bald… bit like a monk. It was great to see them all together. Jane

  5. Fantastic Jane – they are one of my most favourite birds. I love watching and hearing them move through the tops of the hedge trees on the farm. Always busy, busy and gregarious.

    What a treasure the video clip is too. It makes me happy and joyful. I’ll be back to watch it when I need a quick ‘aahh’ pick me up!

  6. Hi Paula. Glad you liked the clip. Hope it brings a smile to your face if you watch it again in the future… I think they must be one of my favourite birds as well, so chatty, gregarious and flitty (not a bit like me!) Jane

Leave a Reply

