Race for Life

On Sunday my sister Christine and I took part in the Race for Life in Poole in aid of Cancer Research. OK, this isn’t wildlife related but I just thought it was important to publicise such a great event.

Above is a “before” shot – Warming Up!

There were approx 1700 woman taking part in the event on Sunday. Either running, jogging or walking the beautiful 5k course around the Poole shoreline and Poole Park.

Christine & Me waiting for the “Off”. I’m 5999!

It is a brilliant atmosphere, with people walking for friends/family who have cancer, those who have recovered and in memory of those who have died. It always brings a big lump to my throat when I read the signs on everyone’s backs saying who they are running for. There are so many Dads, Mums, Sisters, Brothers, Grandparents and friends names written on their backs. So many people (young and old) have been touched by this awful disease but it’s so great to be doing something positive about it.

Half Way Round. Ok… we aren’t running but we are walking quite fast!

This year the Poole event hopes to raise over £120,000 which will go to Cancer Research projects in the UK.

Any “woman” who would like to take part in one of these events (as it’s women only I’m afraid) should have a look at the Race for Life website http://www.raceforlife.org and find your nearest event. There are loads of events all over the country.

For those of you who are feeling really enthusiastic they also do 10k events (for men and women) which can be found at http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/10k/

A big thank you to everyone who sponsored me. If you fancy donating…. just let me know!

7 thoughts on “Race for Life

  1. Hi Jane,

    Well done – great work on what was a rather warm morning! The Dorset 10k, for those interested, is on 19th Oct at Bournemouth seafront. There are lots of them all around the country in Sept and Oct. Will contact you direct about sponsoring you for Sunday.

  2. Thanks Steve! It was a “little” warm… but a great atmosphere. Thanks for letting me know about the Dorset 10k. I will have to get into training 🙂

  3. Well done Jane! I don’t get pocket money just yet but I’m sure daddy will give you some money. I’ll start getting mummy out walking more just as soon as I’m big enough – I’m going to be her personal trainer!

  4. Thanks Teagan! I will nab your daddy! How much are you charging your Mum for “personal training” I think the going rate is two bones and a big squeaky toy… let me know if you don’t get it.

  5. Thanks Dragonstar and Doug. I must admit it wasn’t very difficult this year (as I wasn’t running) although I did make my sister run the last 500m… wish I had a picture! It is a great cause and is a really fun couple of hours.

Leave a Reply

