Bird Bath Bonanza

I’ve been pond watching in my garden and I must admit I was quite surprised how many different bird species were flying backwards and forwards to wash (do birds wash or bath?) and drink. As an experiment I set up my miniature camera near the pond so that I could count them all. Nine different species or more???

Take a look at the footage below. I think nine different species (maybe even eleven) visited the pond to drink or wash. I’m not sure you will agree. Let me know what you think.

I will post the names of the birds “I think” I spotted in a couple of days.

Big clue… one of them was a very big, noisy black and white bully…

Species I think I saw:

Robin
Blackbird
Nuthatch
Dunnock
Greenfinch
Blue Tit
Chaffinch
Coal Tit
Blackcap
Great Tit
Magpie

19 thoughts on “Bird Bath Bonanza

  1. Hi Jane,

    It stopped at 2:07 and wouldn’t go any further – might be my PC being slow though. I had reached six species at that point. Not giving any names away, but that ‘bandit’ bird footage is amazing! BTW – the pond looks fab!!! Oh, while I’m here – have a look at my blog, I was handling a cracking reptile today, guess which one?

  2. Worked ok the second time around. I can see this would be a great game -trying to work out how many species there are is pretty addictive! I think I made it to eleven – and maybe even twelve as one of the tit species that flew over very briefly may well have been the 4th tit sp. Will wait for your list to see how I got on..

  3. Pingback: Bird Bath Bonanza Video

  4. Hi Steve. The pond has turned out brilliantly. I still have my resident frog and I’ve seen the newts a couple of times. The birds absolutely love it. They are literally queuing up to use it some mornings. I will let you know the bird names I saw at the weekend. I was quite surprised just how many there were! Jane

  5. Brilliant video (and super pond!). You’re very lucky to get some of those – no names, but there’s one I haven’t seen for years. The nearest I have to a pond is a dustbin lid full of water – mostly used by woodpigeons and starlings – but the bird-table is getting busy now (see my blog for a photo) with sparrows, tits and finches (plus pigeons and the occasional big b/w bandit!)

  6. Jane, this is brilliant! Your pond looks as if it’s always been there (though that magpie makes it look like a puddle!)
    On first viewing I could only be sure of six species, but some were very quick. I’ll just have to come back and watch again.

  7. I managed to identify eight but as Steve said, some only flitted across – will have to look again. What wonderful clear water and obviously loved by the blackbirds! Pond has really settled down at last. Chris

  8. While doing a bit of editing I popped into your site. Liked al the footage, the bathing Robin was of interest as I was filming Robins and Kingfishers last week at my local wildlife reserve and lake, while doing so I had a black bird drop down in front of me and have a good old bath splashing away, not to the liking of a coot living near by.

    I may be a bit late on this.
    Just looked on the Autumn watch web site and found a link on there with your interview with Georgina Windsor on BBC Radio Solent’s The Good Life.
    Well-done Jane.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/dorset/nature/

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/dorset/content/articles/2008/10/29/nature_blogger_feature.shtml

  9. Hi, What a lovely clear pond you have. We’ve got a pond,but the water isn’t clear. We have a lot of fish in it though and we get loads of birds bathing and drinking every day. Luckily when we made the pond we made the sides sloping and added a ‘step’ near the top of the pond where the birds can stand. We get different birds from rooks to sparrows at the pond. I enjoy watching them through the window. Trisha

  10. Hey Jane.
    I certainly make it ELEVEN.
    Super video.
    I’ve been watching a gurt big female Sparrowhawk cause havoc around the large Limes surrounding our garden today (at dawn – NO CHANCE of any photies), but I may now have to think about extending our “baking tray pond” to bring more passerines and so hawks in!
    Lovely stuff.
    Doug

  11. My list is definately NINE maybe ELEVEN: Robin, Blackbird, Nuthatch, Dunnock, Greenfinch, Blue Tit, Chaffinch (?), Coal Tit (?), Blackcap, Great Tit, Magpie

    Hope you got them all, and thanks for all your comments about the birds and your ponds. I will try and do this again in the Spring (or maybe even over the Winter) just to see how their bathing/drinking habits change over the year. Can’t imagine there will be many having a bath today… brerrrrrrrrrrrr!

    PS Thanks Ron for noticing my features on the BBC Nature website. It’s great to get some publicity for our local wildlife (and blogging!).

  12. It’s a beautiful film! I love how much they all seem to be enjoying their wash and brush up. I long for a pond, but there are now so many cats in our neighbourhood that I worry I would just be tempting birds and other species to their deaths 😦

  13. Thanks so much for your comment Bird. So glad you found Urban Extension. I love your blog and have added it to my Google Reader so that I can read all your new posts. We have quite a few cats in the area, but I made sure there wasn’t too much cover for them near to the pond. That way the birds hopefully see them coming. I used to have an upturned dustbin lid. That works really well. My new pond is just a bit bigger, and attracts a few more insects and amphibians. The birds seem to love it too… Jane

  14. Hi Dragonstar. Really glad you have enjoyed the little film above. Nuthatch are lovely little birds. People don’t talk about them much but I’m with you, I think they look very exotic – gorgeous grey/blue back and wings and pinky white/breast… They scamper up and down our tree trunks with the Treecreepers all year round. Jane x

  15. Thanks Dale. I’m not surprised you can’t have a pond… I’ll let you off! Loved your time-lapse film, brilliant view. Thanks for your comment and hope you pop by again in the future. Jane

  16. Pingback: Bird Bath Bonanza Video

Leave a Reply

