Wildlife Webcam : Armchair Birdwatching!

What does a pair of common kestrel, an English nature reserve, a wildlife webcam and a website have in common?

Common Kestrel, Male

A male Common Kestrel – photo courtesy of Wikipedia

I don’t usually blog about “work” but to be honest what I’ve been working on this week has been a complete pleasure.  I help to look after the Dorset Wildlife Trust website and one of our projects this year has been to set up a live wildlife webcam for a breeding pair of kestrels.

This pair have been using the same nestbox at Lorton Meadows Nature Reserve for the past three years. They were filmed last year (and there was a computer showing live video in the reserve information centre) but this year we are going global!

It’s taken quite a bit of jiggery-pockery but it’s now working. The webcam page includes not only the live wildlife webcam but lots of information about the kestrels, a video from last year, photographs, info on Lorton Meadows, a commenting facility (linked to Twitter), email a friend, even the local weather forecast!

Take a look at it here: Kestrel Live Webcam

Please let me know what you think. I’m always open to comments and questions.  We will also be adding other webcam links and more pictures and video as the weeks go on.

So far the male has made a scrape for the female to lay her eggs, and is busy bringing her lots of mice and voles. She is expected to start laying any day now.

Happy watching!

18 thoughts on “Wildlife Webcam : Armchair Birdwatching!

  1. What a lovely idea! The video was too murky for me to see – my poor computer is on it’s way out, and a replacement will take time. I love kestrels, so I’ll try to watch if i can.
    Thanks for dropping in.

    • Hope you do get to see it Dragonstar, it’s fascinating to watch. It seems to be very popular so far. Just waiting for the first eggs now like an expectant mother! Jane x

  2. Kestrels are one of my dream raptors, I never tire of photographing them. The image posted here is so beautiful, for some reason the video is not loading in my PC, nevertheless I appreciate the conservation work you folks have taken up.

    • I hope you have managed to watch the video and see the webcam Thomas. They are really great. We now have an egg. Laid on Sunday. Hoping for a few more… Thanks again for your comment. Jane

  3. Hi Jane,
    The You Tube footage taken last year is great,
    Watched the web cam while I had my lunch today Although I can get the live DWT web cam, with sound effects of Railway which is close by and wind in the trees plus some strange creaking no Kestrels turned up I hope they haven’t abandoned the nest box.

  4. It’s amassing as soon as I posted my last comment the male turned up for a few seconds he hoped out side and there was a almighty din I guess the female was telling him to get on with it.

    • Ron. Glad the male turned up for you while you were watching. We now have ONE EGG. Very exciting. The audio is very good. I could listen to the birds singing all day! (minus the trains and police sirens!) Thanks again. Jane

    • Hi Neil. Yes we (Dorset Wildlife Trust) are @kestrelcam on twitter. Please feel free to follow us! My own twitter feed is at @jvadams

  5. Hi Jane,

    I have seen the webcam and its a fantastic idea. I love kestrels and the way they hover effortlessly is amazing. That wikipedia kestrel photo is stunning.

    • Thanks Joe. I didn’t know much about kestrels until this project came along, now I’m totally hooked! Fascinating birds. Have you seen the other photos further down the page (on the webcam page). Some lovely pictures of males and females sent to us by photographers.

  6. Lovely lovely lovely – especially with the sound turned up! This is the first time I’ve managed to switch on before dark and I think I’m hooked. I’ll put the computer on at breakfast so I can show the kids!….

    Thanks also Jane for your comments (not so recent now) on my blog – my emailing system hasn’t been alerting me though – or I would have responded. But your thoughts were much appreciated.

    • No problem Maggie. Really glad you enjoyed it and I hope the kids are enjoying it too. The chicks are getting so big now!

      I haven’t blogged much lately. It doesn’t seem right to sit in front of a computer at this time of the year somehow.

      I expect your farm looks stunning at the moment!

  7. Hi jane,love what your doing with wildlife like yourself im very passionate about wildlife.

    Mt mammoth challenge is to change peoples out look on the elusive sparrowhawk,as all they see is it taking birds from feeders,so instantly they dislike it.but love their pet cats which maul birds /mice to DEATH and leave them.

    So is this because they see the love and affection of a cat so its balanced out,i can also show the loving caring side of the sparrowhawk which nobody ever sees.

    I have spent the last 5 years everyday filming and studying its lives,all done on my own,i have 16 cctv cams 3 hides ,40 foot tower in canopy.

    I have learnt and seen behaviour never seen before,to much to tell you in a message.

    To show you my work take a look at my free footage on my site hope you enjoy what im doing. http://www.sparrowhawk-island/co.uk
    sparrowhawkisland@hotmail.com

    Dave. Cheshire.

    • Wow 5 years filming sparrowhawks! That’s dedication for you. I will have a look at your footage. Thanks for posting about what you are doing. I’m very jealous of your CCTV setup! I only have three (and I thought that was excessive!).

      Thanks again. Jane

Leave a Reply

