The Christmas/New Year Bird Challenge

The Quicksilverbirds blog has been running a “how many birds can you see” challenge over the Christmas holiday. See how I got on…

BlackbirdI managed to get to 33.  Mainly in and around my garden, Corfe Mullen and Wimborne. Hopefully I will also be adding a video of the Jackdaw roost later on today – so that you can see and hear them in all their glory!

  1. Blackbird
  2. Mistlethrush
  3. Starling
  4. Jackdaw
  5. Rook
  6. Carrion Crow
  7. Jay
  8. Magpie
  9. Mute Swan
  10. Lapwing
  11. Goldcrest
  12. Robin
  13. Greenfinch
  14. Blue tit
  15. Great tit
  16. Long Tailed tit
  17. Coal tit
  18. Bullfinch
  19. Wren
  20. Treecreeper
  21. Nuthatch
  22. Chaffinch
  23. Dunnock
  24. Great Spotted Woodpecker
  25. Kestrel
  26. Buzzard
  27. Seagull – God knows what type (common ones!)
  28. Pied wagtail
  29. Woodpidgeon
  30. Pheasant
  31. Grey Heron
  32. Mallard
  33. Fieldfare

4 thoughts on “The Christmas/New Year Bird Challenge

  1. Hi Jane, Thanks for the comment, 33 is a good garden and town score, well done. It’s the taking part that counts. Looking forward to seeing more of the Jackdaws. This morning spotted 2 rooks in full courtship mode, and if you notice many “crows” are now pairing up, sitting side by side on branches etc. Spring is a-coming. (BTW decided to abandon border Reiver, just Andrew from now on)

  2. Hi “Andrew”! It wasn’t bad I guess. I’d like to have seen a kingfisher, goldfinch and some of the other farm and river birds. Oh well, always next year! I watched a field of rooks feeding yesterday… didn’t notice any courtship (lots of fighting – maybe they were actually being friendly!). Hope Spring comes quickly. Jane

  3. Hi Jane, that is a great score! It does now give me soemthing to do as a while away the days waiting to recover though, so many thanks for setting the challenge. I juts hope I’m better before I start adding things like swallow or willow warbler to my list!!

Leave a comment